Working Cafe

Level 2 Certificate in

Safe Handling of Medication

This qualification aims to develop:

  • a general understanding of different types of medication and their use

  • knowledge of the procedures for obtaining, storing, administering and disposing of medicines

  • an understanding of legislation and the audit process related to medication and issues of responsibility and accountability.

This qualification is designed for those who wish to develop their understanding of the safe handling of medicines. This is a knowledge-based qualification, achievement will not allow learners to be considered occupationally competent in the administration of medication.

There are no specific recommended prior learning requirements for this qualification. However, learners may find it helpful if they’ve already achieved a Level 1 qualification.

To be awarded the Level 2 Certificate in Understanding the Safe Handling of Medicines, learners are required to successfully complete 4 mandatory units:

  • Unit 01 Understand medication and prescriptions

  • Unit 02 Supply, storage and disposal of medication

  • Unit 03 Understand the requirements for the safe administration of medication

  • Unit 04 Record-keeping and audit processes for medication administration and storage.

Learners who achieve this qualification could progress to:

  • Level 3 Certificate in the Principles of End of Life Care

  • Level 2 Award in Awareness of Dementia

  • Apprenticeships in Health and Social Care.